OEF/OIF BOARD

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

2 posters

Some questions from one who is green as wood

indagila

Some questions from one who is green as wood Empty Some questions from one who is green as wood

Post by indagila Mon Mar 28, 2011 2:46 pm

Gentlemen,
    I am a newbie here with some questions regarding a possible situation that could arise in fairly short order. First let me state that I am no wannbe or Walter Middie. In fact, given my druthers, I would forgo the matter entirely. I live in an area very close to the Mexican border. Where things get more interesting by the day, despite anything you might hear from Janet Incompetano. I have lived in the bush for most of my life and seven years ago bought the place where I now reside and built a stick and stucco house. I really didn't consider forting up, I just wanted to live quiet. I abutt national forest and can fire a rifle at a 20* up angle in 360*s and not bother a living soul. Can't get much in the way of help either...
    So, I have finally broken down and purchased a black, scary lookin', ugly, souless lead spitter of a rifle, A PTR91 in .308. This is a comfort since if I end up facing Mexican regulars they will be shooting the same thing back at me. In truth, I would like as not be dealing with contribandistas or coyotes who also wish to keep on the low down and so might not have much stomach for a fight. I don't know how much stomach I have either, having never fired a shot in anger.
    Since any center fire rifle round would traverse this house end to end, my thinking is that it would be best to lay low and hope that trouble passes me by. And if not then best to shoot and scoot my way beck into the forest and rely on mobility and sneaky.